The NOTIFY option allows you to adjust the notifications that are sent when a user in possession of the shared resource makes changes to it. The NOTIFICATIONS option can be activated in two modes:
- BIDIRECTIONAL NOTIFICATION – if a user receiving the share makes a change to the shared resource, the notification will only be sent to the original owner of the resource.
- MULTIDIRECTIONAL NOTIFICATION – if a user receiving the share makes a change to the shared resource, the notification will be sent to all users in possession of the resource.
Note: if the owner of the shared resource makes a change, all users in possession of the resource will be notified regardless of the mode chosen.
- Bob is the owner of a folder.
- Bob shares the folder with Alice and John.
- Both Alice and John now have the folder sent by Bob.
- Alice now makes changes to the folder shared by Bob.
- If Bob had selected the BIDIRECTIONAL NOTIFICATION option while sharing the folder, the notification will be sent only to Bob.
- If Bob instead had selected the MULTIDIRECTIONAL NOTIFICATION option, John will also be notified to be informed of the change made to the folder by Alice.